jump to navigation

Close, but No Apple for Lee January 6, 2006

Posted by Lee A Haynes in Computers, Personal.
trackback

I came very close to buying a Mac Mini Tonight. Only because it had Panther rather than Tiger did I balk. Twice I went back to the Apple store to try to push the Mini as far as it can go. I opened everything I could think I would want to have open at the same time. It runs about like my PC. Although it should improve a bit when I take a 1GB board out of my PC and put it in the mini. Only I didn’t buy the mini. The one at Comp USA was only $350. It was one of the fast ones and it had the big drive in it. But no Bluetooth and no Airport card and most importantly no Tiger.

The Apple web site has one of those with 512 MB of RAM for $520. With everything. That way I would only be dropping my PC memory down to 1.5GB that seems worth the $170. But it’s pretty damn close. And then part of me just wants to wait to come up with the money for a G5 or to see just what is going to happen at Mac World next week.

Yet that deal from Comp USA seems excellent. But I do want to upgrade to Tiger if I get a new Mac. I don’t know what I want. I’ve got that pre-purchase craziness. I’m sleepy. I’m cranky and I don’t know what I’m going to do about this damn computer.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

