jump to navigation

Degrees of Separation January 5, 2006

Posted by Lee A Haynes in Personal.
trackback

So there is a homeless guy that sleeps in the doorway of the store. His name is Dave and he’s really not so bad. Coherent, polite (well mostly) and looks out for the neighborhood in his own way. However the neighbor’s are not too happy. We are an upscale street. I myself sell big name designer goods. Today I was approached by our beat cop asking if I wanted Dave moved on.

I’m torn. On the one hand it doesn’t look good. Dave has been sleeping later and later so that now he doesn’t get up until I move him on. Union Street is active by that time. People should be looking in my window oohing and ahhing. He makes the young women that work for me uncomfortable when they need to be the ones waking him up. And there are the neighbors. The neighbors who weren’t very happy when a chain store came onto the block in the first place. It is only a matter of time I’m afraid before one of them realizes that it would only take a little bit of pressure on my bosses to put a lot of pressure on me.

Murphy (Yea, I got a beat cop named Murph, can it get more cliched than that) wants me to post a no trespassing sign in the front window. If that’s there then he can site Dave. I guess it’s like the on switch for low level police harassment. Murphy says it wont really come to that Dave knows the rules and he’ll start to sleep out of the neighborhood. He’s resisted any and all services that they’ve tried to give him. Still I feel like shit. I told him I would think about it for a day or so. I’m going to have to do it I know but still makes me feel like I’m kicking somebody out of his bed. Reminds me that I’m still living week to week at my age.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

