jump to navigation

Good Advise (I Hope) January 2, 2006

Posted by Lee A Haynes in Books, Creativity.
trackback

The book I’m reading right now (very slowly) is called “Bird by Bird” by a Marin writer named Anne Lamott. It’s subtitled, “Some instructions for writing and life.” I like the book the author has even less self-confidence than me and she’s managed to put together a few books.

The Advise that got to me today was a quote from Ethan Canin. When asked what the most valuable thing he knew about writing was he said, “Nothing is as important as a likable narrator, nothing holds a story together better.” I like this advise a great deal. Lamott also talks about how character leads to plot. This is something I’ve never been comfortable with. Character I feel an affinity for but Plot mystifies me. If she’s right there is hope for me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

