jump to navigation

Birth of Cool January 2, 2006

Posted by Lee A Haynes in Music, Personal.
trackback

Yesterday was a strange day. I only kept the store open for half a day. Since most of the street is made up privately owned little stores they all took New Year’s day off. Other than the bars and restaurants the only places I saw open on Union Street were us and the corporate owned stationary store across the street. By 2 o’clock I had generated $6 in sales and I was calling my Regional for permission to stop this abortion of a day. I locked the doors and went home around 3.

Last night I went on a Jazz kick. I have been using the Rolling Stone Top 500 Albums of All Time as my music to acquire guide. Number 16 is Kind of Blue by Miles Davis. I downloaded it a couple of nights ago and it’s been my soundtrack for this rainy week. Last night I discovered this Australian site which has the 100 top Jazz CD’s. The sounds of ‘Trane, Mingus Art Blakey, Sonny Rollins and of course Miles have been filling my apartment ever since.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

